Engineering Achievement Awards 2018

This was a great initiative first time these awards have been made by the IESLWA to recognise the achievement of Sri Lankan engineers in Western Australia. This will continue as an annual feature into the future.

The submissions were opened for following three categories.

  1. Engineering achievement (Open) - Open to all engineers in WA

  2. Engineering achievement (Young engineer) -Open to all engineers in WA who have not reached their 40th birthday by the closing date for nominations

  3. Engineering achievement (Graduate/ Cadet Engineer) -Open to all engineers in WA who have been employed for no more than 5 years after graduation, before the closing date for nominations)

There were seven (7) submissions short listed by the selection panel to assess suitability for awards. The individual submission was evaluated based on the following criteria:

· Originality of achievement

· Extent of Innovation in the achievement

· Value to the employing organisation

· Value to the community

· The environmental efficacy

· Significance or extent of the engineering challenge

· Demonstration of sound engineering science in both practice and principle

· How the submission compares with other submissions

· Extent of nominee’s involvement

The selections of the winners were undertaken through a staged system. After all of the applications were received, a short list of candidates for each category was prepared and each of the candidates was then requested to submit a written statement addressing the selection criteria and a summary CV. Short listed applicants were then invited to make a 15 minutes presentation to the selection panel and other invitees. This was held at Curtin University, Perth on Saturday 14thth July 2018.

The panel selected the winners of each category after considering both the written and oral presentations. The selection panel consisted of Professor Charitha Pattiaratchi, Professor of Coastal Oceanography, Leader, Australian National Facility for Ocean Gliders (ANFOG), Oceans Graduate School & The UWA Oceans Institute, University Of Western Australia (Chairman), Eng. Nimal Jayaratne and Eng. Remy Jayasekere and they were highly impressed by the high calibre of the applicants and their achievements.

The winners and awards were announced and presented at the IESLWA Chapter Engineers’ Night – Dinner dance on Saturday 28th July 2018.

The Winners for the 3 categories are as follows:

Engineering achievement (Open)

• Winner: -

o Eng. Narendranathan Nagamuttu - Application of geophysics in geotechnical engineering, Ground improvement methods for soft soil conditions and Application of Nano technology in ground stabilization going

· Certificate of Commendation:-

o Dr. Chandana Kulasuriya - Alkali Pozzol and Cement (APC), an alternative to ordinary Portland cement, which causes less adverse impact on the sustainability of the planet

o Associate Professor Sumedha Rajakaruna - Designing and building of a remotely deliverable innovative, renewable energy laboratory for testing and research at Curtin University

Engineering achievement (Young engineer)

• Winner: -

o Eng. Dhakshi Weerawardena – Outstanding young woman in resources - WA Chamber of Minerals and Energy

· Certificate of Commendation:-

o Eng. Suhith Lakshan Jaltotage – Alky water mitigation project at BP refinery Kwinana, Western Australia

Engineering achievement (Graduate/ Cadet engineer)

• Winner: -

o Dr. Diana Aroshanie Lamabadu – Dynamic analysis of a novel single phase generator using an improved machine model

· Certificate of Commendation:-

o Eng. Navin Welgama – Effects of drilling fluid properties on particle settling velocity using Particle Image Velocimetry (PIV)